top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEryn Cade

Statements and Grant Writing

Updated: Dec 2, 2021

Week 8

We discussed our artistic statement, choreographic statement and our grant proposal. This was a very hard couple of weeks because I have to really think about why I am the artist and a choreographer today. Although, we kind of touched on those in our personal statement earlier in the semester, this assignment felt a little more intense. In my MFA work it took authenticity and vulnerability. For me, those are two very important topics and a lot of time those two things consume me. It's also something that I'm committed to because as an individual I'm committed to growth and being a better version of myself. So I knew those two ideas would be staples in my artistic and choreographic statement. Creating the body of my statements, I knew in terms of movement ballet and African aesthetic movement practices were going to be staples in both statements. I know I'm called to the performing arts. And so, I knew representation and inspiring a new generation of dancers would be staples in my statements. The problem was trying to find a through line to connect everything. The fellowship was challenging because I had to talk about myself. I don't like bragging about myself. Sometimes I be so hyper focused on whats next that I forget the accomplishments. Trying to make a budget was kind of hard because I don't really know what to give people. I do know that I want to pay for everyone's services. It was nice to receive all the feedback!


Summary Notes

  • The impact of receiving a grant are profound

  • Vision: The Psychology of Winning by Dennis Whaitley

  • Create a definition of success personally and professionally in 5 years

  1. Whether I am performing, presenting a body of work, or teaching I want to enhance personal development and representation. I want to book a talent agency that allows me to book concert and commercial work.

  2. The agency.

  3. In my personal work I will be working on my research in innovative ways maybe with use of the water again, use of digital media, etc

  4. Because it helps me address responsibilities which aids in personal development.

  5. Equipment like cameras, rental spaces, etc


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page